The Ajinomoto® Umami Culinary Challenge - Now On It's 6th Year

{press release}

The annual Ajinomoto® Umami Culinary Challenge (UCC) 2015 is slated on Friday, January 30, 2015 at the Hall 2 of the SMX Convention Hall from 6:00 AM – 6:00 PM. On its 6th year, UCC organizer, Ajinomoto Philippines Corporation, puts together the best culinary teams from Luzon-Visayas-Mindanao in one (1) cooking arena to showcase their masterful culinary creations. UCC is the biggest, intercollegiate, multi-category culinary competition that focuses on the delicious potential of umami, the 5th basic
taste. The event attracts HRM and Nutrition students in 54 schools coming from NCR, Ilocos, CALABARZON, Central Luzon and Bicol Regions and regional winners from Visayas and Mindanao. 

Apart from the Luzon-Visayas-Mindanao Cooking Showdown, UCC 2015 features three (3) competition
categories: Best Filipino Umami Dish, My Own Umami Creation and My Eat Well, Live Well® Plate. The
competing teams will be judged based on intensity of their dish’s umami taste, culinary technique and
creativity, dish preparation and plate presentation. One of the major criteria is the Eat Well, Live Well.®
Cooking, which referred to culinary nutrition or the integration of culinary skills and nutrition knowledge
to create delicious and nourishing umami dish.

Winners will receive cash prizes: first place winners P10,000, second place winners P8,000 and third
place winners P5,000. National Showdown winners will receive PhP 15,000. Major prizes also include
gifts from UCC 2015 sponsors: La Germania, Solane, Fujidenzo and Masflex.

Ajinomoto® advocates culinary nutrition embodied in its slogan Ajinomoto® Eat Well, Live Well. Leading
technical experts in food, nutrition and medicine will also provide valuable insights to student-
competitors to solidify their background in culinary nutrition and educate them about umami and its
role in health and nutrition. Umami, the scientifically recognized and proven 5th basic taste alongside
sweet, sour, bitter, and salty, was first identified and isolated by Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo Imperial
University in 1908.

11th Floor, V Corporate Centre, 125 L. P. Leviste Street,
Salcedo Village, Makati City, Philippines  
Ajinomoto Philippines Corporation (APC) is an affiliate of Tokyo-based Ajinomoto Co., Inc.Established in 1958, APC lives by its promise to provide consumers products that will always give the delicious taste to healthy and nutritious meals as embodied in APC’s slogan Ajinomoto® “Eat Well, Live Well.®” APC’s complete line of quality food and seasoning products are produced by international affiliates and local toll manufacturers using Ajinomoto’s license, quality standards and technological expertise. APC’s products include AJINO-MOTO® Umami Seasoning, Ajinomoto® Brand Ginisa Flavor Seasoning Mix, Ajinomoto® Brand Chicken Powder, PORKSAVOR® All-in-One Seasoning Mix, CRISPY FRY® Breading Mix, CRISPY FRY® Seasoned Crumbs, TASTY BOY® All Purpose Breading Mix, AJI-SHIO® Seasoning Mix, Ajinomoto® Brand Sinigang and FRES-C® Concentrated Powdered Drink Mix.


  1. Academy Of Asia School Of Technology And Arts
  2. Asian Institute Of Maritime And Studies
  3. Benedicto College
  4. Bulacan State University
  5. Calayan Educational Foundation
  6. Central Luzon Of College And Technology
  7. Centro Escolar University- Malolos
  8. Colegio De San Juan De Letran- Laguna
  9. Colegio De San Lorenzo
  10. College Of The Immaculate Conception
  11. De La Salle University- Dasmari├▒as
  12. De Los Santos Sti- College
  13. Dominican College (San Juan)
  14. Dr. Carlos S. Lanting
  15. Emilio Aguinaldo College (Manila)
  16. Facilities Management College
  17. Far Eastern University
  18. First Asia Institute Of Technology And Humanities (Faith)
  19. Green Valley College Foundation, Inc.
  20. Hercor College
  21. Holy Cross Of Davao College
  22. Jose Rizal University
  23. La Consolacion Colleges- Tanauan
  24. La Consolacion Colleges- Novaliches
  25. Laguna College
  26. Lyceum Of Subic Bay
  27. Lyceum Of The Philippines University (Cavite)
  28. Malayan College Laguna
  29. Manila Tytana College
  30. Mariano Marcos State University
  31. Mariano Quinto Allarilla Polytechnic College
  32. Mariners' Polytechnic Colleges Foundation
  33. Metropolitan Medical Center-College Of Arts Science & Technology
  34. Miriam College
  35. Our Lady Of Perpetual Succor College (Olopsc)
  36. Pamantasan Ng Lungsod Ng Marikina
  37. Pangasinan State University
  38. Partido State University
  39. Perpetual Help College Manila
  40. Philippine Cultural College
  41. Phinma Araullo University
  42. Polytechnic University Of The Philippines (San Juan)
  43. Rogationist College
  44. Saint Francis Of Asissi College
  45. San Pedro College Of Business Administration
  46. Southeast Asian College
  47. St. Dominc College Of Asia
  48. Tarlac State University
  49. Technological University Of The Philippines
  50. University Of Perpetual Help System Dalta-Molino
  51. University Of Rizal System (Antipolo)
  52. University Of Santo Tomas
  53. University Of The East (Manila)
  54. Wesleyan University Philippines

No comments:

Post a Comment

I'd appreciate any feedback. Please share your thoughts and leave a comment.